Greater London Authority logo - links to home page
Alternative languages Home  |  About  |  City Hall  |  Contact  |  FAQ  |  Help  |  Jobs  |  Site map
London Life | Mayor of London | London Assembly | Media Centre



> Priorities

Mayoral team

Mayor's Report

Value for money

Register of Interests

Gifts and hospitality register


Mayor's Decisions

Planning decisions


Video clips


Stay in touch

London Planning Awards 2008

Winner of the Mayor's Award for Excellence in Planning went to - High Speed Rail Link 1 - submitted by High Speed One (HS1)

Boris Johnson and Policy Director, Sir Simon Milton, hosted the 6th annual ceremony and announced the winners.

Boris Johnson, Mayor of London, said:
"Above all, I’m looking for award winning projects that will improve the quality of life for all Londoners, consider the environment and the damaging effects of climate change and work towards keeping London safe. All developments must remain appropriate to their context and setting and have enduring beauty that will remain for generations to come."


The Mayor’s Award for Excellence in Planning

The Mayor’s Award for Planning Excellence went to:

  • Winner: High Speed 1 Rail Link submitted by High Speed One (HS1)

Delivery of the London element of the rail link including the Restoration of grade 1 Listed St Pancras station, the station extension to accommodate international trains, the soon to be opened Stratford Station, the state of the art Train servicing depot at Temple Mills and the tunnelling, substations etc along the route. The project has already changed the face of rail travel – not just for London but for the UK, and will continue to do so for future decades/centuries.

Back to top

Best Built Project

Sponsored by CB Richard Ellis

  • Winner: More London: A catalyst for the transformation of North Southwark submitted by London Borough of Southwark and More London Developments
  • Commendation: Lee Valley Athletics Centre submitted by London Borough of Enfield and Lee Valley Regional Park Authority

Best Built Project – Community Scale scheme

Sponsored by Land Securities

  • Winner: Grassroots Centre, Memorial Recreation Ground, Newham submitted by Eger Architects
  • Commendation: The City of London Information Centre submitted by City of London

Best Conceptual Project

Sponsored by Berwin Leighton Paisner

  • Winner: Aldgate Masterplan submitted by LB Tower Hamlets
  • Commendation: Inclusive Design Strategy and Standards" submitted by Olympic Delivery Authority

Best New Public Space

Sponsored by Lovells

  • Winner: Cornmill Gardens, Lewisham submitted jointly by LB Lewisham and BDP
  • Commendation: Swallow & Vine Street Improvements submitted by The Crown Estate

Best New Place to Live

Sponsored by NHBC

  • Winner: Adelaide Wharf, Hackney submitted by First Base

Best Project to Protect Communities

Sponsored by Arup

  • Winner: The Cut - from through route to destination submitted by London Boroughs of Southwark and Lambeth and the Cross River Partnership

Best Built Project – 5 years on

Sponsored by GVA Grimley

  • Winner: Paternoster Square submitted by Stanhope PLC

Back to top

Related links

The London Plan

Planning for a Better London

London Plan alteration: Crossrail

London's housing capacity 2009

The London Aggregates Working Party

The Outer London Commission


    Top of page   Home  |  About  |  City Hall  |  Contact  |  FAQ  |  Help  |  Jobs  |  Site map  

GLA group Visit London Metropolitan Police Authority (MPA) Transport for London London Development Agency London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority (LFEPA)